DNA Fingerprints

Some time ago I went to a presentation by the people who ran the DNA fingerprinting service for the police. It was all very interesting and at the end they asked for volunteers to give them samples of their DNA so that they could use it to help develop a new procedure. They promised not to keep the data so I thought that I would give it a whirl.

Well they’ve finished with my spit(!) now and I’ve received a nice picture of my particular DNA fingerprint now. I might just bung it on my wall.  Unfortunately I’m a teensy bit paranoid so I’m not going to upload it here, sorry :-P.

I noticed that not that many people were keen to give a DNA sample. Would you have done? And if we’re that worried about people getting hold of our DNA fingerprints how much worse will it be when our entire genome can be easily sequenced..?

 

About dnadba

I work with databases and stuff
This entry was posted in DNA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

